In the 7th edition of APA Style, the definition of what is considered a published thesis or dissertation has changed.
This type of work is considered "unpublished" if it was "retrieved directly from the college or university in print form."
This type of work is considered "published" if it was retrieved online from a database (such as ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global), university archives (also known as institutional repository), or personal webpage (APA Manual, Section 10.6).
For Published works, include
publication number (if applicable)
type of work & institution name in square brackets [ ]
name of source holding online work
and for works published online but not accessed through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: the full URL
Published Master's thesis acquired online from a database
Smith-LaBrash, S. (2010). Influence of learning styles, gender, self-rated computer experience, and age on preference for computer-assisted learning versus traditional learning (Publication No. 1483122) [Master's thesis, Northern Michigan University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Smith-LaBrash, 2010)
Narrative: Smith-LaBrash (2010)
Direct quote: (Smith-LaBrash, 2010, p. 10)
Published Master's thesis acquired online not from a database, but rather an institutional repository (sometimes referred to as a Commons, or has ETD/handle in url). Provide name of repository. URL should retrieve the PDF.
Taylor, J. N. (2018). Measuring the success of metropolitan and nonmetropolitan students at a nonmetropolitan university [Master's thesis, Northern Michigan University]. NMU Commons. https://commons.nmu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1589&context=theses
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Taylor, 2018)
Narrative: Taylor (2018)
Direct quote: (Taylor, 2018, p. 17)
Unpublished Master's thesis (acquired in print form)
Paulosky, K. A. (1997). Knowledge and attitudes of pain and activities of nurse administrators [Unpublished master's thesis]. Northern Michigan University.
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Paulosky, 1997)
Narrative: Paulosky (1997)
Direct quote: (Paulosky, 1997, p. 17)
In the 7th edition of APA Style, the definition of what is considered a published thesis or dissertation has changed.
This type of work is considered "unpublished" if it was "retrieved directly from the college or university in print form."
This type of work is considered "published" if it was retrieved online from a database (such as ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global), university archives (also known as institutional repository), or personal webpage (Section 10.6).
For Published works, include
publication number (if applicable)
type of work & institution name in square brackets [ ]
name of source holding online work
and for works published online but not in a database: URL
Published Doctoral dissertation acquired online from a database
Puncochar, J. M. (1996). Confidence in individual and group decision-making: When two heads are worse than one (Publication No. 9702816) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Minnesota]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Puncochar, 1996)
Narrative: Puncochar (1996)
Direct quote: (Puncochar, 1996, p. 25)
Published Doctoral dissertation acquired online not from a database, but from an an institutional repository (sometimes referred to as a Commons, or may have ETD/handle in url). Provide name of repository.
Naylor, S. M. (2007). Understanding graduate student constructs for finding meaning in the advising experience: A qualitative case study of incoming master's of social work students [Doctoral dissertation, University of North Carolina Greensboro]. NC Docs. http://libres.uncg.edu/ir/uncg/f/umi-uncg-1429.pdf
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical: (Naylor, 2007)
Narrative: Naylor (2007)
Direct quote: (Naylor, 2007, p. 36)
Unpublished Doctoral dissertation, acquired in print form [forthcoming]
How to cite this work in-text:
Parenthetical:
Narrative:
Direct quote: