Skip to Main Content

Philosophy and Religious Studies

This library guide helps students and patrons find full-text resources available in Northern's Olson Library, credible websites and the Chicago Manual of Style for citations and instructions on formatting research papers.

Citing Books with Examples

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

One Author or Editor
(Sections 14.3 and 14.5)

For books published after 1900, the author's name and the title of a book should be cited according to how each appears on the title page. In a bibliography entry, the author's name is normally inverted, with their last name appearing first. For additional considerations, see 13.74-13.76 (names) and 13.87-13.101 (titles).

Example 1 – One Author (published after 1900)
N: 1. Barnett R. Rubin, Afghanistan from the Cold War through the War on Terror (Oxford University Press, 2013), 378.
B: Rubin, Barnett R. Afghanistan from the Cold War through the War on Terror. Oxford University Press, 2013.

 

For books published before 1900, the city of publication is typically of greater interest than the name of the publisher; it is therefore preferable to omit publishers' names and instead include only a place and date of publication. See the Manual, 14.30 and 14.31.

Example 2 – One Author (published before 1900)
N: 1. Oliver Goldsmith, The Vicar of Wakefield (Salisbury, 1766), 100.
B: Goldsmith, Oliver. The Vicar of Wakefield. Salisbury, 1766.

 

When no author appears on the title page, list the work by the name(s) of the editor(s), compiler(s), or translator(s).

Example 3 – One Editor
N: 1. R. G. Frey, ed., Utility and Rights (University of Minnesota Press, 1984), 95.
B: Frey, R. G., ed. Utility and Rights. University of Minnesota Press, 1984.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Multiple Authors or Editors
(Section 13.23)

For a book with two authors or editors, only the first listed name is inverted, with the others written as they appear.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Two or Three Authors
N: 1. Catherine Margaret Orr and Ann Braithwaite, Introducing Women's and Gender Studies: Concepts for Everyday Use (Routledge, 2014), 203.
B: Orr, Catherine Margaret, and Ann Braithwaite. Introducing Women's and Gender Studies:
            Concepts for Everyday Use. Routledge, 2014.

 

Example 2 – Two or Three Editors
N: 1. Frank Tallett and D. J. B. Trim, eds., European Warfare, 1350-1750 (Cambridge University Press, 2010), 111-12.
B: Tallett, Frank, and D. J. B. Trim, eds. European Warfare, 1350-1750. Cambridge University Press, 2010.

 

In the bibliography, list up to six authors; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by "et al".

Example 3 – Four to Ten Authors or Editors
N: 1. Julie Evans et al., Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies (Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003), 29.
B: Evans, Julie, Patricia Grimshaw, David Philips, and Shurlee Swain. Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous
            Peoples in British Settler Societies. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Author and Editor
(Section 14.6)

The edited, compiled, or translated work of an author is normally listed with the author's name appearing first and the name(s) of the editor(s), compiler(s), or translator(s) appearing after the titled, preceded by edited by or ed., compiled by or comp., or translated by or trans.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Author and Editor
N: 1. Elizabeth Bishop, One Art: Letters, ed. Robert Giroux (Farrar, 1994), 514.
B: Bishop, Elizabeth. One Art: Letters. Edited by Robert Giroux. Farrar, 1994.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Author and Translator
(Section 14.6)

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

For more information on translated titles, see the Manual, 13.101.

Example 1 – English Title
N: 1. Ernst Cassirer, The Philosophy of the Enlightenment, trans. Fritz C.A. Koelln and James P. Pettegrove (Beacon Press, 1955), 14.
B: Cassirer, Ernst. The Philosophy of the Enlightenment. Translated by Fritz C.A. Koelln and James P. Pettegrove. Beacon Press, 1955.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Organization as Author
(Section 13.86)

If a publication is issued by an organization and carries no personal author's name, list it as the author.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Organization as Author
N: 1. World Health Organization, WHO Editorial Style Manual (World Health Organization, 1993), 83-91.
B: World Health Organization. WHO Editorial Style Manual. World Health Organization, 1993.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Anonymous Work
(Section 13.81)

For anonymous works, omit the author from the citation and begin with the title. Bibliography entries for anonymous works are alphabetized by title.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Anonymous Work
N: 1. A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced (London, 1610).
B: A True and Sincere Declaration of the Purpose and Ends of the Plantation Begun in Virginia, of the Degrees Which It Hath Received, and                           Means by Which It Hath Been Advanced. London, 1610.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Chapter from an Edited Work
(Sections 13.25 and 14.9)

When citing a chapter or similar part of an edited book, precede the title of the book with in. When citing multiple chapters from the same edited work, see the Manual, 14.10. Also, note that it is no longer necessary to record a page range for the chapter in the bibliography entry.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Chapter from Edited Work
N: 1. Paige Raibmon, "Living on Display: Colonial Visions of Aboriginal Domestic Spaces," in Home, Work, and Play: Situating Canadian Social History, 1840-1980, ed. James Opp and John C. Walsh (Oxford University Press, 2006), 22.
B: Raibmon, Paige. "Living on Display: Colonial Visions of Aboriginal Domestic Spaces." In Home, Work, and Play:
            Situating Canadian Social History, 1840-1980, edited by James Opp and John C. Walsh. Oxford University Press, 2006.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Multivolume Work
(Sections 14.18-14.24)

The format of citations for multivolume works depends on a number of variables, including whether all volumes were published in the same year, the number of authors, whether the set has an editor, whether each volume has a unique title, and whether you wish to cite the work as a whole or only a single volume of the work. If you are unsure of how to cite a multivolume source you've used, consult the Manual, 14.18-14.24.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Multivolume Work
N: 1. Peter Gay, The Enlightenment: An Interpretation, vol. 2, The Science of Freedom (Knopf, 1969), 345-49.
B: Gay, Peter. The Science of Freedom. Vol. 2 of The Enlightenment: An Interpretation. Knopf, 1969.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Edition Other than the First
(Section 14.15)

When an edition other than the first is cited, the number or description of the edition follows the title.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Numbered Edition
N: 1. Mary Lynn Rampolla, A Pocket Guide to Writing in History, 6th ed. (Bedford/St. Martin's, 2010), 13.
B: Rampolla, Mary Lynn. A Pocket Guide to Writing in History. 6th ed. Bedford/St. Martin's, 2010.

 

Example 2 – Revised Edition
N: 1. Florence Babb, Between Field and Cooking Pot: The Political Economy of Marketwomen in Peru, rev. ed. (University of Texas Press, 1989), 100.
B: Babb, Florence. Between Field and Cooking Pot: The Political Economy of Marketwomen in Peru. Rev. ed.
            University of Texas Press, 1989.


If citing a reprint or modern edition of a work, see the Manual, 14.16.

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Dictionary or Encyclopedia
(Sections 14.130-14.132)

Well-known general reference works are typically only cited in notes; they are not given a bibliography entry.

Example 1 – Well-known General Dictionary
N: 1. Oxford English Dictionary, s.v. "Saturnalia, n.," accessed July , 2024, https://www.oed.com/dictionary/saturnalia_n?tab=meaning_and_use#24299989.

 

Example 2 – Well-known General Encyclopedia
N: 1. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online, Academic ed., s.v. “Arturo Toscanini,” accessed July 1, 2024, https://www.britannica.com/biography/Arturo-Toscanini.

 

The distinction between general and specialized reference works is not always clear. If a dictionary or encyclopedia focuses on a particular subject or topic, and if the entries within it are substantial and are authored by scholars whose names are provided, it is likely best to use the format shown below.

Example 3 – Specialized Dictionary or Encyclopedia
N: 1. Rajesh Kumar, "Little Ice Age," in Encyclopedia of Snow, Ice and Glaciers, ed. Vijay P. Singh, Pratap Singh, and Umesh K. Haritashya (Springer, 2011), https://link-springer-com.uleth.idm.oclc.org/referenceworkentry/10.1007/978-90-481-2642-2_333.
B: Kumar, Rajesh. "Little Ice Age." In Encyclopedia of Snow, Ice and Glaciers, edited by Vijay P. Singh, Pratap Singh
              and Umesh K. Haritashya. Springer, 2011. https://link-springer-com.uleth.idm.oclc.org/referenceworkentry/10.1007/978-90-481-2642-2_333.


If you are consulting a dictionary or encyclopedia in print, see the Manual, 14.130.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

This Chicago Manual of Style Guide, 18th Edition, was created by Karli Pansky at the University of Lethbridge, in Calgary, Canada. Creative Commons Copyright of BY-NC-SA.

Note citations (footnotes or endnotes) are designated with an N, while bibliography citations are marked by a B.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

E-Books
(Sections 14.58-14.62)

Citations for e-books consulted online are very similar to those for print books apart from the URL included. When possible, a URL based on a DOI should be used. For an explanation of DOIs, see the box below. For more information on citing e-books consulted online, see the Manual, 14.161.

Please note that Chicago now omits the place of publication for books published after 1900 (see the Manual, 14.30). For books published before 1900, they recommend using the place of publication instead of the publisher itself, as it is of greater interest (see the Manual, 14.31).

Example 1 – Online E-Book
N: 1. Charles Brian Rose, The Archaeology of Greek and Roman Troy (Cambridge University Press, 2014), 255,
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/uleth/detail.action?docID=1543600.
B: Rose, Charles Brian. The Archaeology of Greek and Roman Troy. Cambridge University Press,
            2014. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/uleth/detail.action?docID=1543600.

 

Example 2 – Downloaded E-Book
N: 1. Margaret Atwood, The Heart Goes Last (McClelland & Stewart, 2016), chap. 3, Kindle.
B: Atwood, Margaret. The Heart Goes Last. McClelland & Stewart, 2016. Kindle. 

DOI - Digital Object Identifier

Most scholarly publishers now assign a unique alpha-numeric code called a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) to journal articles, e-books, and other documents. Chicago guidelines for citing electronic resources include this number in the citation whenever possible. The DOI can generally be found on the first page of scholarly journal articles as well as in the database record for that article. DOIs are typically provided within a URL beginning with https://uleth.idm.oclc.org/login?url= and ending with the DOI, as seen in this example: https://login.uleth.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.doi.org/10.2307/j.ctt22zmc3w.

If the DOI does not appear on the article or in the database record, it may be found by entering citation information into the free DOI Lookup on CrossRef.org.

To determine DOIs for an entire reference list, copy & paste the entire list here: Cross/Ref Simple Text Query.

A DOI can be searched or verified by entering the DOI number here: Cross/Ref DOI Resolver.

Materials originally published prior to the Internet, but now available online, may not have a DOI. When a DOI is not available, include the URL in its place.