LibGuides: Music: Websites- Sheet Music, public domain music and more!

Websites- contains sheet music, College Music Society and more!

Open Access sources for Sheet Music and more!

RISM online
"The Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - International Inventory of Musical Sources - is an international, non-profit organization that aims to comprehensively document extant musical sources worldwide: manuscripts, printed music editions, writings on music theory, and libretti that are found in libraries, archives, churches, schools, and private collections...URLs in RISM Online are guaranteed to be authoritative, stable, and cite-able. You can bookmark, cite, and share URLs among colleagues, with an institutional commitment that they will persist. This includes links to searches and previews, allowing users to share their complex queries with the knowledge that the recipient will see, as close as possible, the same view."-- About description.
UCLA'S Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project-Petrucci Library
Includes both sheet music and recordings. Can easily export pdfs of the sheet music.
Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection, Johns Hopkins
This collection contains over 29,000 pieces of American popular music: "From the War of 1812 through World War I, and minstrel music is also well represented. Other topics include music about the circus; dance; drinking, temperance, and smoking; fraternal orders; presidents; romantic and sentimental songs; schools and colleges; and transportation."
Online exhibits include: US Reform Movements through the Levy Collection, Mapping Tin Pan Alley, A case Study on White Supremacist Sheet Music, Grace Notes in American History, Across the Burning Sands (Middle East-inspired sheet music)
Sheet Music History with video demonstrations under Using the Collections/Other Resources.
Edison Collection of American Sheet Music, University of Michigan Music Library
"Sheet music published from 1800 to 1870 in the Edison Sheet Music Collection, gathered by the Edison Phonograph Company and one of the largest collections of American 19th-century music held anywhere. Consists primarily of songs and solo piano works."-description.
Digitized music scores available via HathiTrust.
ChoralWiki, Choral Public Domain Library
"CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005...Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information."-description
Julliard Manuscript Collection
"The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner...Among its highlights are the late engraver’s proof of Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9, with hundreds of markings and annotations by the composer; the original manuscript of Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge, in his arrangement for piano, 4 hands; and, the last scene of Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro. All of the manuscript scores and sketches have been digitized. Also available on this website are selected manuscripts from the Juilliard Library’s Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, including scores in the Artur Rubinstein Music Collection."-from About page.
Crash Course in Reading Sheet Music, Old Dominion University
"Head of Special Collections & University Archives, Jessica Ritchie, has prepared this helpful beginner’s guide to reading sheet music. And, as always, archives staff is ready to answer any additional questions you may have!" -from top of libguide

Music recordings, Sound Libraries and Online Exhibits!

Library of Congress National Jukebox
The National Jukebox contains public domain music recordings, listen online, explore full text research articles and essays. Great place to find ideas for American Music History.
Library of Congress Stage and Screen Digital Collections and Exhibitions
Online exhibits for Musical Theatre: Sheet Music of Musical Theater, Leonard Bernstein Collection, Lars Schmidt Collection.
Other exhibits include:
The Wizard of Oz: An American Fairy Tale,
West Side Story: Birth of a Classic,
Molto Animato: Music and Animation,
Grand Illusion: the Art of Theatrical Design
Musref-Brigham Young University
The Musref website is a clearing house for a variety of open-access eJournals, reference books, online digital collections, composer websites, and music internet portals. More than 13,000 resources in total.

Harvard University Clearinghouse for Music Databases
Clearinghouse websites for a wide variety of national and international Music databases, that include sheet music, recordings, and research based on subjects or regional themes.
Highlighted databases:
African Music Library
Silent Film Scores-Library of Congress
Statistics in Historical Musicology
Berkeley Folk Music Festival
Sheet Music of Musical Theatre
Women of Rock- Smith College
Musictheory
Contains lessons, practice tutorials, sound identifiers and calculators, downloadable staff paper and more!

Professional Organizations

College Music Society

Includes Great Lakes Chapter; "The Great Lakes Chapter hosts a conference each spring, which features presentations of papers, panels, lecture-recitals, performances, workshops, demonstrations, poster sessions, and composers’ concerts. Also included are a keynote address, business meeting, and conference lunch, and there are plenty of opportunities to network throughout the event. Members from all regions throughout the United States and Canada are invited to submit proposals and are welcome to attend the conference.

Our chapter is a strong advocate for honoring student work, and offers support by presenting two monetary awards annually, recognizing Best Student Presentation and Best Student Composition."

Includes free webinars about: Community engagement, Music Curriculum, Latin American Music and Career Services.

Operabase: global reference database since 1996
Includes searchable database for Productions and Performances for Opera, Classical, Ballet and Musicals. Find artists for castings, include your own profile, find access for digital recordings. Find competitions, venues, organizations, managers and venues.
Music Library Association
"The Music Library Association is the professional association for music libraries and librarianship in the United States. Founded in 1931, it has an international membership of librarians, musicians, scholars, educators, and members of the book and music trades. Complementing the Association’s national and international activities are ten regional chapters."-from main page