A database is an organized collection of information or data, often available in digital form, that students can use to find specific resources for research and study. Academic databases contain scholarly articles, journals, books, reports, and other materials that are often peer-reviewed or otherwise credible.
Students can use a database to search for reliable information on a specific topic, explore academic journal articles for their assignments, find industry reports, or access eBooks for in-depth learning. By using filters like keywords, publication date, and type of resource, students can efficiently find the most relevant sources for their assignments.
NewspaperArchive is one of the largest databases of newspaper archives. NewspaperArchive has billions of news articles you can use to learn history related to family, cultures, and the world.
Includes more than 860 full-text national and international newspapers. Also includes more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).
Access to nytimes.com. Provides current paper and an archive (e.g. TimeMachine) of articles back to 1851. Does not include the cooking section or crossword. Need to use this link for the first time to create an account with your NMU email address and a unique password. Then in the future, you can go directly to nytimes.com and log in.
Provides unlimited access to WSJ.com on desktop, tablet and mobile devices, including the WSJ mobile app. To access the content, you will need to use this link for the first time to create an account with your NMU email address and a unique password. Select your user type. Students will be asked to enter their expected graduate date. Faculty and staff will need to reconfirm their affiliation once a year.
If a student or faculty/staff subscriber has a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to their School-Sponsored WSJ subscription, they will need to call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.
