Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and sociology. 1805 to present.
For PsycINFO, which is THE DATABASE for Psychology, nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms--these are terms (a "controlled vocabulary") used in the psychological literature. It's a good bet that some or all of what you are searching for has already been given a subject. This will significantly narrow down your results to relevant sources. More explanation is here.
And whatever you find anywhere online, whatever is fed to you that raises a question, please give it a closer look.
Sixty full text journals from the American Psychological Association and other publishers. 1985 to present.
Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.
Our subscription version is above, the free version from the Dept. of Education is at this link. Material may have been removed because it does not match the current political climate (2025+).
Access to more than 530 full-text journals. It has particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).
An additional resource from the American Psychiatric Association containing the DSM-V and a number of psychiatric reference materials, books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
Published by the American Psychiatric Association, this classification and diagnostic tool is the authority in the United States for psychiatric diasnosis. NMU's premium subscription also includes access to the DSM-IV-TR and its Handbook of Differential Diagnosis as well as the Cases from DSM-IV-TR. A paper copy of the DSM-5 can also be found in the Olson Library Reference Collection (Call No. RC455.2.C4 D54).
The largest database of graduate dissertations and theses. Almost 5 million citations and over 2.6 million full-text works. Useful for literature reviews, in-depth scholarship and extensive bibliographies with citation links. Indexing 1637 to present; full-text 1743 to present.
Database offering access to more than 800,000 free electronic theses and dissertations.
Access over 70,000 videos with unlimited/simultaneous access across a wide range of subjects, platform includes 360/VR functionality.
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference
CPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. NMU is an institutional member but you will need to create an individual account in order to download datasets.
The JoVE Unlimited streaming video library covers basic to advanced concepts, including cutting-edge experimental research, increasing productivity and test scores. Consists of more than 18,000 videos illustrating key concepts, lab experiments, research techniques, demonstrations, and clinical skills in a variety of disciplines primarily in the sciences & social sciences, but also humanities such as Art & Music. Instructor tools include suggestions for how to use in the classroom, and create video-specific tests. Audio, transcripts, and Closed Captioning available in multiple languages.
Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 2,100 core scholarly journals. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title).
LGBT Life contains full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books. The database also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus.
ProQuest Central brings together databases across major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, and Philosophy. Also includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical point-of-care full text resource. Aimed towards students, professionals, and patients, includes the latest information about drugs & diseases. Updated daily, peer-reviewed by expert physicians, and highly reliable. Coverage is extensive, and entries include references. Also includes a number of calculators/assessment tools, scores, scales, and medical equations. Searchable Lexicomp® Drug Interactions, and "What's New" section.
*When first accessing UpToDate through NMU Library, please create your own account, which will allow access from multiple devices, save/bookmark entries & search history, and track CME/CE/CPD credits.
Over 135,000 ebooks for students at all levels - from undergrad to post-doctoral research - and including topics across all disciplines. Over 1,000 new titles added each year.
Offering more than 170,000 e-books, this collection of multidisciplinary eBooks includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).
A collection of over 23,000 electronic books on a wide range of subjects.
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Previously know as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Open Book Publishers (OBP) is a leading independent open access academic press that publishes peer-reviewed, award-winning monographs, edited collections, textbooks, critical translations and more. All Open Book Publishers books are freely available in open access formats (PDF, HTML and XML).
From GreyNet,"Grey Literature is a field in library and Information science that deals with the production, publication, distribution, and open access to multiple document types produced by governments, academics, businesses, and organizations in digital and non-digital formats not controlled by commercial publishing." Sometimes these works turn up in library databases and an internet search will unearth them, but you might want to systematically search for them where they are gathered.
Speaking of GreyNet, their GreySource, resources in grey literature. Subjects are across the spectrum, but their 05 classification includes Psychology.
PsyArXiv Preprints. PsyArXiv (psychology archive) is designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research. This resource is a creation of the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPS) and the Center for Open Science (COS). PsyArXiv allows scholars to post documents such as working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review (preprints), making them accessible to other researchers and to the public at no cost.
PapersFirst. A subscription database through NMU. Covers over 6.5 million papers published in numerous symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting proceedings. This and Proceedings below work together and there might be some overlap.
Proceedings. A subscription database through NMU. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
CogPrints. An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, Computer Science, Philosophy, and Biology.