LibGuides: Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences (UG) / Speech-Language Pathology (Graduate): Finding Articles

Professor & Reference/Distance Education Librarian

Michael Strahan

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

Gries Hall Room 32 (temp until 2026)
Library Map in Gries

906-227-2463

Subjects: Clinical Sciences, Deaf Studies, Education, Nursing, Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences

Databases to find Articles/Information

OneSearch (advanced search screen)
Use this link to access the advanced search screen, where users may indicate which fields to search (e.g., title, author, or subject) instead of everything. Also allows the searcher to set some limits (material type such as books or journals, language, and publication years) before running the search.
Linguistics Database
Full-text database of scholarly journal articles in audiology, fluency disorders, linguistics, language behavior, phonetics, and speech-language pathology.
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases
Search all ProQuest Social Sciences databases together including ERIC, Education Database, Linguistics Database, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, Social Science Database, Sociological Abstracts, and more. Best for keyword searching across all of these databases. Highly recommend you click on the "Peer reviewed" box before running search.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and sociology. 1805 to present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other resources on subjects including nursing, emergency services, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical therapy, optometry, public health, speech-language pathology & audiology, and surgical technology. 1937 to present.

SpeechBITE Database
Produced by Speech Pathology Australia. Contains best practices and treatments. NOTE: Users will have to check NMU Library holdings separately; there are no NMU library links to online access like in library subscription databases.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical point-of-care full text resource. Aimed towards students, professionals, and patients, includes the latest information about drugs & diseases. Updated daily, peer-reviewed by expert physicians, and highly reliable. Coverage is extensive, and entries include references. Also includes a number of calculators/assessment tools, scores, scales, and medical equations. Searchable Lexicomp® Drug Interactions, and "What's New" section.
*When first accessing UpToDate through NMU Library, please create your own account, which will allow access from multiple devices, save/bookmark entries & search history, and track CME/CE/CPD credits.

Note: as of 7/1/24 includes UpToDate Advanced with Pathways (interactive decision support), and Lab Interpretation Monographs

Click here to view brief UpToDate Advanced tutorial (prepared by Wolters Kluwer)

Click here for directions to create your own account in UpToDate
which will allow access from 2 devices. Note that users of the app are required every 90 days to access UpToDate using the above link and login using your personal account.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.
Access note: Must use this special URL for links to appear in article abstracts
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including: anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, and sociology. 1805 to present.

NeuroBITE Database
This free Neurorehab evidence source indexes studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour (description from website). NOTE: Users will have to check NMU Library holdings separately; there are no NMU library links to online access like in library subscription databases.
Native Health Research Database
Note that there is not a link to connect NMU holdings in results.

LGBTQ + Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life contains full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books. The database also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and other resources relating to education--from early childhood to higher education. Views 'education' very broadly and covers areas such as outdoor education, corporate training, speech language therapy, etc. 1966 to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.
Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of legal information, including federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, and more. Also included are 900 law journals and reviews.