For a list of all databases we have listed under Social Work, not just the ones selected below, click here.
LGBTQ+ Source
LGBT Life contains full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books. The database also includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central brings together databases across major subject areas including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, and Philosophy. Also includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. This is a very broad database.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
The largest database of graduate dissertations and theses. Almost 5 million citations and over 2.6 million full-text works. Useful for literature reviews, in-depth scholarship and extensive bibliographies with citation links. Indexing 1637 to present; full-text 1743 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Access to more than 530 full-text journals. It has particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Brought to you by the Library of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (https://mel.org).
PTSD Pubs
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD.
PubMed
Journal articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Also good coverage of literature in cellular and molecular biology and biochemistry. Formerly known as MEDLINE. Mid 1960's to present.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical point-of-care full text resource. Aimed towards students, professionals, and patients, includes the latest information about drugs & diseases. Updated daily, peer-reviewed by expert physicians, and highly reliable. Coverage is extensive, and entries include references. Also includes a number of calculators / assessment tools, scores, scales, and medical equations. Searchable Lexicomp® Drug Interactions, and "What's New" section.
When first accessing UpToDate through the NMU Library, please create your own account, which will allow access from multiple devices, save/bookmark entries & search history, and track CME/CE/CPD credits.