Newspapers & News Sources: Historical and Current: Home

While there's a lot of duplication on the following sites, there is not one, complete directory of online newspapers. If you don't find what you are looking for at one site, check another. Most links go to the entire directory but many provide links to the smaller set of Michigan sources.  Repeating from the first tab in this resource, the News and Newpapers, a Proquest Database, which provides worldwide news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s from leading newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. What might be behind a subscription elsewhere could be available at this link.

Links to local and regional digitized newspaper collections can be found on the NMU Holdings tab.

Did some news story appear out of the blue in your social media account(s)?  Give it a look with a critical eye.

Current:

• Listing of Upper Peninsula newspaper websites from UP Blue.
• Google Newspapers (contains both current and historical--depends upon the paper)
• Library of Congress (international as well)
• Wire Services: Associated Press, United Press International, Reuters--wikipedia has a list of news agencies from across the globe.
• w3newspapers
  • Michigan listing
• RefDesk.com
  • Michigan listing
• World Newspapers
  • Michigan listing
• OnlineNewspapers.com
  • Michigan listing

Historical:

• NMU has digitized local and regional newspapers, available via the UPLink resource.
• Central Michigan University has a Digital Michigan Newspaper Portal (some will be repeated elsewhere in these links).
• Wikipedia (links to the newspapers for Michigan, but if you want to start at the top of that page, click here). This is a large, international list that includes links to additional collections.
• Palmer's Index to The Times.  Available full image & searchable from 1790-1896, and searchable only from 1897-1933.
• Chronicling America, from the Library of Congress. Search the years 1836 to 1922.
  • List of Michigan newspapers available.
  • Not a newspaper, but the UP's own Cloverland Magazine, 1916-1923.
• Old Fulton New York Postcards Don't let this name put you off.  Over 57+ million pages digitized (many links off the Wikipedia page take you here but it's a good source to start with by itself).
• ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers. Links to free and subscription newspapers. Contains newspapers dating back to the 1600s.
• U.S. Newspaper Program. This is a national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present. Select a particular state from the list for the links to the organization within that state.

The same rules apply for these listings: no one source has it all. A search in any search engine for newspaper and whatever college you are looking for will work, too.

• World Newspapers
• Wikipedia Directory
• w3newspapers
• Academic Kids worldwide list

Are we missing a link to something? Let us know.