These links probably contain a little of everything that is offered up in this guide. The first, The Statistical Abstract, has long been a single source for many commonly asked-for U.S. statistics.
FedStats
Provides a gateway to statistical sources from federal agencies. Subjects are accessible via a list on the left-hand side of the page (Population, education, employment, health, housing, commerce, economy, finance, transportation, agriculture, environment & geography, government, justice, science & technology, media, and tourism). Yes, many of the resources here already appear on these pages, and yes, FedStats is very comprehensive. But I am not going to cut and paste it the contents here.
Data.gov
Over 300,000 datasets are available for download from Electric Vehicle Ownership to Real Estate Sales from over 130 government organizations at the national, state, and local level.
Statistical Abstract of the United States--current issues no longer available via NMU
Published since 1878, the Statistical Abstract is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Source material is cited. Old issues (1879-2012) are here.
Housing and Urban Development Data Sets
Included here is the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.
From the U.S. Census Bureau. A two-part compendium that includes more than 12,500 time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to 1970.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
NASS publishes U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series. Quick Stats offers the ability to query by commodity, state(s) and year(s), providing the most up-to-date statistics including all revisions. The query dataset can be downloaded for easy use in your database or spreadsheet. Data goes back to the 1800s. Also within this resource is CropScape, an interactive map.
USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)
The system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics (commodities, field crops, economics and management, livestock, dairy and poultry, specialty agriculture, trade and international). Available titles include both current and historical data. Many of the current titles are available via email subscription.
Census of Agriculture (US) Historical Census Publications
The Census of Agriculture back to 1840.
Foreign Agricultural Service Data & Analysis
From the USDA. FAS’s network of global contacts and long-standing relationships with international groups contribute to the agency’s unique market intelligence capacity. FAS analysts provide objective intelligence on foreign market conditions, prepare production forecasts, assess export opportunities, and track changes in policies affecting U.S. agricultural exports and imports.
Global Agricultural Information Network
USDA'S Global Agriculture Information Network (GAIN) provides timely information on the agricultural economy, products and issues in foreign countries since 1995 that are likely to have an impact on United States agricultural production and trade. U.S. Foreign Service officers working at posts overseas collect and submit information on the agricultural situation in more than 130 countries to USDA's Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS), which maintains the GAIN reports.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Includes data on fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use, and population. Online mapping as well.
International Food Policy Institute
The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
An organization of 36 countries dedicated to economic development. Statistics on agricultural output, policy, fisheries, and sustainable agriculture.
USA Trade Online
Import and export data from the Census Bureau. Requires you to create an account. Additional Census resources regarding foreign trade:
Housing and Urban Development Market at a Glance Reports
The "Market at a Glance" reports for the counties and metropolitan areas are based on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the American Community Survey data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Some adjustments are made by HUD field economists based on regional information. The data is expected to be released on monthly basis for most of the metropolitan areas and counties. Data includes labor force and employment, population and households, housing market and building activity.
Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics keeps track of employment (state, metropolitan and local), layoffs, compensation, consumer & producer prices indices, workplace injuries, and foreign labor statistics, to name just a few. Also includes a monthly calendar of important release dates for data.
Economic Census Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the Nation's economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. Data is available for the U.S., states, counties, metro and zip code areas.
Center for Economic Studies
A unit of the Census Bureau, this program develops public–use data products by combining and enhancing existing data including Business Dynamics Statistics (measures of establishment business dynamics by state, firm, size, age, and industrial sector), Quarterly Workforce Indicators (workforce statistics by demography, geography, and industry for each state), OnTheMap (data on where workers live and work), and SIPP Synthetic Beta (synthetic Survey of Income and Program Participation).
Social Security Administration: Office of Research, Evaluation and Statistics
Employment & earnings by state and county, expenditures of the aged, income of population 55 or older, disability and other benefits, policy papers and research briefs on pertinent topics.
Tax Statistics--Internal Revenue Service
Business tax statistics, individual income, charitable & exempt organizations, filing statistics, statistics by form, migration data, working papers, historical data.
Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly compilation is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District (Beige Book)
Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.
Additional resources from the Federal Reserve: Bank Assets and Liabilities, Dealer Financing Terms, Exchange Rates and International Data, Financial Accounts, Bank Structure Data, Industrial Activity, Interest Rates, Household Finance, Money Stock Measures, Business Finance, among others.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
The BEA. This office provides the most timely, relevant and accurate economic data to help promote a better understanding of the U.S. economy. These reliable and consistent measures of economic activity are essential to the informed decision-making of policymakers, business leaders and every American household.
American Customer Satisfaction Index
The ACSI reports scores on a scale of 0 to 100 at the national level and produces indexes for 10 economic sectors, 47 industries (including e-commerce and e-business), more than 230 companies, and over 100 federal or local government services. In addition to the company-level satisfaction scores, the ACSI produces scores for the causes and consequences of customer satisfaction and their relationships. The measured companies, industries, and sectors are broadly representative of the U.S. economy
STATS America
From Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. StatsAmerica provides actionable data for economic developers to use in site requests, development metrics, grant writing and strategic planning.
Atlas of Rural and Small-Town America
From the USDA Economic Research Service, the Atlas assembles statistics on four broad categories of socioeconomic factors: People: Demographic data (including age, race and ethnicity, migration and immigration, education, household size and family composition), Jobs: Economic data (including information on employment trends, unemployment, industrial composition, and household income), Agriculture: (including number and size of farms, operator characteristics, off farm income, and government payments) and County classifications.
Economic Report of the President
"The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.” Statistical tables and reports can be downloaded from 1995 forward.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
Search for banking, business, and economic data dating back to the late 1800s.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
The National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) is the national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
Charity Navigator
Over 225,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities are rated. Their rating system looks at a charity's financial health and their accountability & transparency.
The Almanac of American Philanthropy
This resource was created to serve as a reference on America's distinctive philanthropy, and conveniently encapsulates the history, purposes, effects, and modern direction of private giving.
Nonprofits Source
Compiles data on online charitable giving (online, social, mobile, and email).
I am linking you out to the Federal Depository LibGuide of climate and weather websites from the Federal Depository Library Program because it's really the place to go. It includes NOAA's Climate Data Online, the National Water and Climate Center, Climate & Weather Data Maps, and Drought.gov.
While international data can be found at the above websites linked (NASA and NOAA), the World Meteorological Organization's Climate Data and Monitoring website includes worldwide climate watch and datasets.
The International Monitory Fund has a Climate Change Dashboard.
Historical climate data (1970-2000), historical monthly weather data (1960-2018), and future climate data from WorldClim, a database of high spatial resolution global weather and climate data.
Global set of Climate Change Statistics and Indicators, from the United Nations.
FBI Crime Data Explorer (CDE)
"The CDE pages provide a view of estimated national and state data, reported agency-level crime statistics, and graphs of specific variables from the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). You can also download bulk datasets from a variety of UCR topics. In addition, the Crime Data API (application programming interface) provides a way for developers to access and share large amounts of data in significant ways." The Documents & Downloads menu links to reports such as the Crime in the United States Annual Reports series and Hate Crime Statistics Annual Reports series.
National Crime Victimization Survey Data Dashboard (N-DASH)
"The NCVS is the nation’s primary source of information on criminal victimization. It is an annual data collection sponsored by the Bureau of Justice Statistics. The NCVS collects information from a nationally representative sample of U.S. households on nonfatal crimes, reported and not reported to the police, against persons age 12 or older."
U.S. Census Bureau
The starting point for data about the people and the economy of the United States. Although number for the nation can be accessed, here are Michigan numbers. Access is available via an A to Z menu, a search feature, and browsing the main categories--people, business, and geography--on the home page. Also includes a link to DATA.CENSUS.GOV, which uses Census Bureau data to create tables, reports, and maps down to the census block level. For historical population numbers, visit this page from the University of Michigan (they also have a very good webpage of Census resources). The database MyHeritage Library Edition contains searchable Census records from 1790-1950. NMU has a webpage with additional Census Resources.
Childstats.gov Data Sources: Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Under Data Tools are links to the following topics: Family and Social Environment, Economic Circumstances, Health Care, Physical Environment & Safety, Behavior, Education, and Health.
Aging Statistics
From the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging Related Statistics. This website gathers data and reports relating to aging, as well as serving as means of communication among those interested in this topic.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Data on social change in the United States is collected as part of the General Social Survey (GSS). The GSS has been conducted almost annually since 1972. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972. In addition, since the GSS adopted questions from earlier surveys, trends can be followed for up to 70 years.
Immigration
From the Department of Homeland Security. The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is online back to 2004, population estimates of legal and illegal immigrants ("Unauthorized Immigrants"), permanent legal residents, naturalizations, refugees, etc.
Mapping the Measure of America
The Human Development Index is a composite measure of well being and opportunity combining health, knowledge, and standard of living into a 1-to-10 scale. Interactive maps and charts quickly show nationwide "rankings" of a variety of attributes: health, education, housing & transportation, income, etc. Data goes back to 2008.
NORC, at the University of Chicago
Since 1941, NORC has been researching and publishing data on the following subjects: Arts and Humanities, Criminal Justice, Education, Energy & Environment, Finances, Health, International, Labor and Employment, Organizations, Security, Special Populations, Society and Culture, Substance Abuse, and Technology.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
This agency collects, collates, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally. The Digest of Education Statistics , Projections of Education Statistics, and The Condition of Education, are three major publications from this agency. Also, FastFacts--concise information on a range of education issues. Constantly updated. A few resources off this guide are from this office.
Center for Education Statistics Global Locator
Search for schools (public or private), colleges, and libraries by name, zip code, or city. Statistics include student/teacher ratios with national comparison, enrollment, enrollment by race, NCES ID's, charter or magnet designation, and contact information.
Digest of Education Statistics
From pre-kindergarten to graduate school, The Digest contains data on a variety of topics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, and federal funds for education, libraries, and international comparisons. There are several annual reports listed on this page including The Condition of Education, Federal Support for Education, High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Projections of Education Statistics, and Youth Indicators.
Regional Education Laboratory Program
Regional Educational Laboratories (RELs) work in partnership with school districts, state departments of education, and other educational stakeholders to use data and research to improve academic outcomes for students. For more than 50 years, the RELs have collaborated with school districts, state departments of education, and other education stakeholders to help them generate and use evidence and improve student outcomes. Michigan, and most other Great Lakes states, are in the Midwest.
ED Data Express: Data about elementary & secondary schools in the U.S.
The site currently includes data from EDFacts, Consolidated State Performance Reports (CSPR), State Accountability Workbooks, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the National Assessment of Education Progress (NAEP), the College Board, and the Department's Budget Service office.
National Education Association Reference Center
The nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. More than statistics can be found here. Reports, assessment, and guidelines as well.
Open Doors Online
A comprehensive information resource on international students in the United States and U.S. students who sojourn abroad as part of their academic experience. Online data goes back to 2001 and includes (for international students) total enrollment, leading institutions, countries of origin, academic level, and fields of study. For U.S. students abroad, leading destinations, host regions (with country breakdown), and fields of study.
Education Information from the U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing. Topic areas covered in this section include: Educational Attainment, School Enrollment, Public School System Finances, School Districts, Teaching about Statistics, and Educational Services.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
This resource collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information. Includes petroleum and other liquids, coal, natural gas, electricity, renewable/alternative fuels, nuclear energy, consumption & efficiency, and total energy statistics. Shows state, territory, and country statistics. Includes maps.
Global Energy Statistical Yearbook
From Enerdata, an energy data and consulting company. They produce the Global Energy Statistical Yearbook, a free online interactive data tool. You can browse data through intuitive maps and graphs, for a visual analysis of the latest trends in the energy industry.
United Nations—Energy Statistics
UNSD collects energy statistics from more than 200 countries and updates and maintains the Energy Statistics Database, which contains energy statistics for the period 1950-2016. The statistics cover production, trade, transformation and final consumption (end-use) for a range of primary and secondary energy products derived from conventional and non-conventional or renewable energy sources.
Foreign Trade has also been touched upon in other statistical tabs here.
United States International Trade Commission Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
This resource provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information are available on a self-service, interactive basis. International trade data are available for years 1989- present on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
An A to Z listing including (but not limited to) agriculture and fisheries, education, energy, environment, finance, health, internet economy, investment, trade, and transport.
World Trade Organization
Their "Documents and Resources" page provides access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos. Their data portal is here.
Foreign Trade
From the U.S. Census Bureau (listed elsewhere in this guide). This database is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. Includes import and export statistics, information on export regulations, and commodity classifications.
UN Comtrade Database
Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Our nation's principal health statistics agency. Reports and data available on a variety of health related issues through their Data & Tools link off the homepage. This agency publishes Health: United States, an annual report on trends in health statistics. Online editions of this publication date back to 1975. The CDC produces a lot of statistics, including:
County Health Rankings
Gathered from a number of national sources, this resource is a project between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. This website provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county's health.
National Institutes for Mental Health
Statistics on mental illness. Includes links to full-text publications and additional online resources.
HealthData.gov
Search in Administration for Children and Families, Administration for Community Living, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Department of Health & Human Service, Health Resources and Services Administration, National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
An additional Federal list of health statistics available online is from MedlinePlus. Some links are repeated here, but not all.
Kids Count
KIDS COUNT, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. and measure the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children state by state. Comparisons are made within 10 indicators: percent low birth-weight babies; infant mortality rate; child death rate; rate of teen deaths by accident, homicide, and suicide; teen birth rate; percent of children living with parents who do not have full-time, year-round employment; percent of teens who are high school dropouts; percent of teens not attending school and not working; percent of children in poverty; and percent of families with children headed by a single-parent.
The Human Mortality Database
The Human Mortality Database (HMD) was created to provide detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. At present the database contains detailed population and mortality data for 37 countries. This resource is free but you are required to register.
Workplace Injury and Illness Data from OSHA
Establishment-specific injury and illness rates by company, zip code, city, and SIC or NAICS code. Back to 1996.
USDA's Food Environment Atlas
This atlas assembles statistics on food environment indicators (food choices, health & well-being, and community characteristics) to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality. Also from the USDA, the Food Access Research Atlas (this used to be named the Food Desert Locator).
Nutrient Data Laboratory (NDL)
Provides nutritional information on various foods. Available from this site is the National Nutrient Database, which allows you to type in a food type (e.g apples, pizza, etc.) and retrieve its nutritional value (fat, protein, vitamins, minerals, etc.). In addition, the NDL offers nutritional reports on single nutrients. For example, you can see food sources that contain iron and the amount of iron each of these sources contain.
Nutrition.gov
This site provides easy access to all online federal government information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety, and more. Resources are organized by category on the main page, but a more extensive list is available via a drop down menu option. Additionally, you can search across all the sources via keywords.
Dietary Guidelines
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans are jointly issued and updated every 5 years by the Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). They provide authoritative advice about consuming fewer calories, making informed food choices, and being physically active to attain and maintain a healthy weight, reduce risk of chronic disease, and promote overall health.
KFF State Health Facts
KFF has five major program areas: policy analysis, polling, journalism, public health information campaigns, and health misinformation and trust. It is an independent source for health policy research, polling, and journalism.
CIA World Factbook
Published each year by the Central Intelligence Agency and updated every two weeks online, this publication provides geographic information on the countries and places of the world. Each profile includes an introduction, geography, people, government, economy, communication, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
African Statistical Yearbook
Jointly produced by the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Union Commission (AUC), and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA). The Yearbook presents a time series showing the performance of African countries for various economic and social indicators over the period 2003 onwards. The Yearbook is published in a single volume consisting of two parts: a set of summary tables followed by country profiles.
Asian Development Bank - Data and Statistics
Includes social, economic (foreign trade), financial, environmental, and Millennium Development Goals. See also the ADB Key Indicators Database and the Data Library for a central repository of all of ADB's public data.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
What's available? Agriculture, Census, Consumer Price Index, Economic Indicators, Employment, Environment & Energy, Geography, Health, Industry, Manufacturing, Mining, People, Population, and Regional.
Statistics Canada
Much, much more than population--agriculture, crime, environment, immigration and ethnocultural diversity, labor, science & technology, transportation, and more. Over 111,000 publications from this agency have been digitized at Scholars Portal.
EuroStat
The statistical unit of the European Commission, EuroStat gathers statistics from several sources. Includes county profiles and links to popular statistics.
Eurydice Network: Education in Europe
Eurydice publishes descriptions of national education systems, comparative reports devoted to specific topics, indicators and statistics, as well as news and articles related to the field of education.
Foreign Assistance.gov
From the U.S. Department of State. By office, by recipient country/region, by sector, by initiative, by agency, or by overseas contingency operation. More than USAID data is here: Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC), Department of Defense, and the Department of the Treasury, as well as budget planning data for the Department of State is included.
NCEI Marine Microplastics.
Obviously this includes US waters as well and some inland water locations.
International Database
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
International Statistical Agencies (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides a list of the official statistical agencies for countries of the world as well as regional, multi/quasi governmental agencies that gather data. What you don't see on this guide is probably listed on this resource.
Nordic Co-Operation: Statistics
The co-operation between the Nordic countries is the world’s oldest regional partnership. It involves Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland.
Pan American Health Organization
An international public health agency with more than 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. Besides data, you can find maps and other publications.
SourceOECD
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. The iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
World Bank Open Data
From the website: "The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source."
United Nations
UNESCO Institute of Statistics (UIS)
Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication from over 200 countries and international organizations. Summary data and global rankings are handily available in addition to predefined and customizable tables.
Demographic Yearbook
The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices. The Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis.
Human Development Reports Office
Commissioned by the United Nations Development Programme in 1990. Among the data produced is statistics of health and social indicators.
Country Statistics
One of several United Nations statistics sources, this one from UNICEF. Click on the "Data by Topic and Country" tab, then limit by topic or country.
UN Comtrade
Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
Includes: International merchandise trade, including data breakdowns of exports and imports by partners and products; International trade in services; Economic trends; Foreign direct investment (FDI); External financial resources, including migrants' remittances, development assistance, external debt, and international reserves; Commodity prices, updated monthly; Population and labor force; and Maritime transport.
United Nations Economic Council for Europe Statistical Database
Comparable data for Europe, North America and Central Asia in the subject areas of economics, forestry, gender, and transportation. Not all subject areas include statistics for North America.
United Nations Statistics Division - Millennium Indicators
With the goal of a world with less poverty, hunger and disease, greater survival prospects for mothers and their infants, better educated children, equal opportunities for women, and a healthier environment, the United Nations MGDI tracks more than 60 indicators of the aforementioned topics.
United Nations Statistics Division - Social Indicators Database
Provides data on the following social indicators for various countries: population, youth and elderly populations, human settlements, water supply and sanitation, housing, health, child-bearing, education, illiteracy, income and economic activity, and unemployment.
World Health Organization
The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Agriculture
From the National Agriculture Statistical Service. Includes historic data back to the 1800s for certain commodities.
City Data: the Michigan Page
Data is gathered from many disparate sources and nicely presented. Cities are divided into 6000+ residents, smaller towns and villages (1000-6000), and very small towns and villages (less than 1000). Townships are also a category.
DataUSA: Michigan.
Nicely combines (and cites) many disparate government statistical sources into one visually pleasing and easy to read portal. You can amend that for every state, county, etc.
Other sources of regional data:
Economic Data--County Area
From the (federal) Bureau of Economic Analysis. Income data by county dating back to 1979, and Economic Data--State Area, income data on a state level (click on Michigan).
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
An offshoot from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. This link takes you to Michigan numbers, but all states can be accessed from this website.
Employment, Wages, Occupation & Industry Statistics
From the Michigan Labor Market Information. Easily obtainable numbers dating back to the '70s. Includes SMSA data as well as specified regions within the state (Upper Peninsula, The Thumb, Central Michigan, etc).
General Listing of Michigan Statistical Resources
A rather complete list from the University of Michigan. Covers just about everything.
State Health Facts Online
From KFF (formerly the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation). Search for or select a health topic topic first, then look at Michigan statistics.
Michigan Department of Community Health
From the website: "The Department of Community Health is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan 's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan.” Their MiTracking Portal gathers existing Michigan-specific environmental and health data and provides them in one online location.
Michigan Education Data Portal
Compare statistics (student count, dropout rate, college readiness, Michigan Access, MEAP, MME, etc). Also includes the Annual Education Report.
Michigan Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation (MIFACE) Program
Work-related fatalities: Occupational Disease, Silicosis, Work-Related Asthma, Noise-Induced Hearing Loss, Blood Lead Levels, MIFACE (work-related fatalities), Asthma Deaths, Pesticides, Heavy Metals, Carbon Monoxide, Burns, and Amputations.
Michigan State Police
Links to crash statistics (deer, holiday, drunk driving, etc), the Michigan Uniform Crime Report and traffic enforcement.
Population--Historical
From the University of Michigan. Scroll down to the "UMich Census Publication Inventory" and select the year you are interested in. An Excel file will open up with embedded links to the scanned-in PDFs of most of the Census volumes. This website also contains links and citations to additional online resources that are only available at the UM.
Michigan.gov Census and Statistical Data
A compilation of statistical sources and links (population data, social and economic data, and geographic information) for Michigan and the United States from the Bureau of Labor Market Information and Strategic Initiatives. Includes economic data, maps, education, age, race, etc.
Marquette County Health Department
Compiled from local and national data, the Marquette County Health Department provides health statistics on a variety of topics, including abortions; teen use of alcohol, tobacco & other drugs; cigarette smoking; percentage of overweight individuals; teen pregnancy; morbidity and mortality; childhood immunizations; and much more. Clickable map of Michigan County Health Departments.
Weather--State and Station Level
NOAA does not make searching for historic weather data easy. Weather stations came and went, too.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Huge resource of US data. Includes airline data, freight data, maritime, trans-border freight, national and state bridge data, and passenger travel data sources.
Transportation, from Data.gov
From the US Government's open data site.
Highway Fatalities
The Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, allows you to conduct a search for specified accident variables back to 1994. Such variables as time of day, county, city, age of driver, person type, number of occupants, etc.
Great Lakes Shipping Statistics
Monthly cargo reports from the Lake Carriers Association, and facts & figures from the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (SLSMC). See also "The Seaway" drop-down menu at the SLSMC site to find additional data including commodities, traffic reports, and economic impacts.
Common Data Set
The Common Data Set (CDS) initiative is a collaborative effort among data providers in the higher education community and publishers. Data dates back to 2001 and includes enrollment, admissions, academic offerings, student life, expenses, financial aid, class size, degrees conferred, as well as data set definitions.
Campus Crime Activity Log: Monthly
As compiled by NMU Police Department. Year to date log is linked here. Annual Campus Security Report is here (with links to previous years).
The Institutional Effectiveness Office (IE, formerly Institutional Research, Planning and Assessment or IRPA).
This office serves to provide comprehensive and accurate information that reflects the characteristics and experiences of the student body, faculty, and staff. Data about NMU can be found here: admissions, enrollment, retention, degrees, etc. There are links to frequently requested reports off the homepage such as the Common Data Set; additional resources can be selected from the menus at the top of the page.
Financial Reports
From NMU's Office of Finance & Administration. Also off this webpage are departmental budget reports and 5 year master plans (capital outlay) back to 2001.