This guide provides access to library resources for locating theses & dissertations.
Last revised: 3/29/2025
Original Theses & Dissertations guide created by Professor Michael "Mike" F. Strahan, Lydia M. Olson Library, February 26, 2019.
Redesigned in LibGuides by Professor Strahan 10/30/2024.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
The largest database of graduate dissertations and theses. Almost 5 million citations and over 2.6 million full-text works. Useful for literature reviews, in-depth scholarship and extensive bibliographies with citation links. Indexing 1637 to present; full-text 1743 to present.
Notes:
Open Access through digital institutional repositories at other universities *full text
By going through NMU's institutional repository The Commons, you may access dissertations, theses, and other scholarly products.
After clicking on this link, click on Advanced Search:
then change the "Limit Search to" field to All Repositories:
and then enter your search terms. Click on the green + sign to add a line.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Database offering access to more than 1.5 million free electronic theses and dissertations from 1955-present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) (added to this guide 2025)
Database indexes over 7.4 million free online theses & dissertations from over 1,100 institutions.
Recent additions for the week appear below search box.
Search Theses Canada
Contain print and electronic Canadian theses and dissertations. Multiple search options are available.
